The Arsanis Scientific Advisory Board members are international infectious diseases experts. They collectively hold extensive research, clinical and drug development expertise in anti-infectives, respiratory disease, intensive care unity medicine, and antibody engineering.

Paul G. Ambrose, PharmD, is President of the Institute for Clinical Pharmacodynamics, New York, USA; Honorary Research Fellow in Infectious Diseases at the University of Oxford, UK; and Adjunct Associate Research Professor at the University at Buffalo, New York. Dr. Ambrose brings translational expertise in the application of pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic principles, with research focusing on anti-infective translational science. Dr. Ambrose is the author of over 120 peer-reviewed scientific publications.

Birgitta Henriques-Normark, MD, PhD, is a Professor in medical microbial pathogenesis in the Department of Microbiology, Tumor, and Cell Biology at the Karolinska Institutet, as well as a Medical Doctor (MD) with a specialty in clinical bacteriology. Professor Henriques-Normark has extensive research and clinical expertise in host-bacterial interactions, ranging from bacterial regulatory systems to the immune response of the host, especially in the field of respiratory pathogens, mainly Streptococcus pneumoniae. Dr. Henriques-Normark has authored or co-authored more than 157 publications.

Rick Malley, MD, is Kenneth McIntosh Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases at Children's Hospital Boston and an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Besides being an active pediatric infectious disease clinician, his research laboratory focuses on pneumococcal pathogenesis and disease prevention with emphasis on correlates of protection and novel immune approaches based on vaccination. Dr. Malley has authored or co-authored 80 scientific publications in the field of infectious diseases.

Howard Mayer, MD, is Senior Vice President and Head of Global Clinical Development at Shire. Previously, Dr Mayer was Chief Medical Officer at EMD Serono, Head of Clinical Development and Medical Affairs for Virology at Pfizer leading the clinical development program of Selzentry, a novel oral entry inhibitor for the treatment of HIV/AIDS, and has worked on antibacterial drug development at Bristol-Myers Squibb. With Dr. Mayer’s extensive clinical and commercial expertise in anti-infective drug development, he was recognized in 2011 as one of PharmaVoice’s 100 Most Inspiring People in the Life Sciences Industry. Dr. Mayer has authored more than 70 publications and abstracts.

Steven M. Opal, MD, is Professor of Medicine in the Infectious Disease Division at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University and Chief of Infectious Disease Division at Memorial Hospital of Rhode Island. Dr. Opal’s pivotal contributions to the infectious disease field include research on the patho-mechanism of septic shock, host-pathogen interaction in systemic infection, and antibiotic resistance; and clinical trial design, implementation, and analysis of data from Phase 1 to Phase 3 studies. He is the editor of several academic research journals and textbooks and the chair of the International Sepsis Forum.

Claire Poyart, MD, PhD, is Professor of Medical Microbiology, University Paris Descartes, and Head of the Laboratory of Bacteriology of Cochin Hospital Head of the National Reference Centre for Streptococci in France. As a clinical microbiologist, her clinical research focuses on the epidemiological characterization of Group B Streptococcus and the development of diagnostic tools for the detection and the identification of Gram-positive bacteria. Her basic research is directed towards characterizing streptococcal virulence and resulted in major contribution to the molecular understanding of the Group B Streptococcus disease mechanism. Dr. Poyart has authored and co-authored over 100 scientific publications in the fields of clinical microbiology and infectious diseases.

Antoni Torres, MD, PhD, FERS, is an internally recognized expert in ICU clinical medicine and respiratory disease. Professor Torres is Head of the Respiratory Intensive Care Unit, Department of Pneumology and Respiratory Allergy, Clinical Institute of the Thorax, Hospital Clinic of Barcelona and Coordinator of all the ICUs of the Clinic Thorax Institute. Professor Torres is also Professor of Medicine at Faculty of Medicine at the University of Barcelona, has authored or co-authored more than 350 original articles, and has coordinated or directed many research projects in the area of respiratory disease.

Richard Wunderink, MD, is Professor of Medicine in the Pulmonary and Critical Care Division of Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine and Medical Director of the Medical Intensive Care Unit, Northwestern Memorial Hospital. Professor Wunderink has specialty expertise in the areas of sepsis and pulmonary infections, especially ventilator-associated pneumonia and community-acquired pneumonia. Dr. Wunderink has authored or co-authored over 230 publications.